“Savages for Revenge.” Novel Process#1

As I am going through my first round of revision for my upcoming book, Savages for Revenge, I am quickly realizing the horrible truth that “The first draft of anything is shit,” as said by Ernest Hemmingway. I am basically rewriting every chapter since I decided to alter some of the major plot points and concepts of the story. I initially formed the novel as a typical thriller or suspense story with action equivalent of any Quintin Tarantino film, but that is not who I am in terms of an artist. At first, I wanted to just be a “famous author” (even that concept I find very subjective). Now, more than anything, I just want my stories out there in the world for people to love or hate. Maybe it will reach a million views/reads. In fact, according to most indie artists, the first project will most likely hardly be viewed by anyone. I’m just too new.

With that being said, I have started going back to my old research, mostly online articles and periodicals. For my first novel, I based the story on the battle between the rural Argentineans and the agricultural corporation, Monsanto. In short, the company has been planting their farms in the Pampas and the Patagonia regions for decades in order to improve the economy. Not surprisingly, this economic boom comes at a cost. Many of the farms and plantations have been using toxic pesticides that are affecting nearby communities. By wind and water systems, the toxins are carried to the nearby towns, afflicting the children and elderly with carcinogens and even birth defects.

Argentina’s Bad Seeds. Click here to see the youtube video that is a major inspiration of my first novel.

Monsanto is Halting New Soybean Technologies. An update claiming that there will no longer be new labs in Argentina, but there are many still there. Then again, money can change anything…

I’ve seen many protests media coverage against Monsanto, but it is a consequence that is our own fault. Many of us enjoy tofu, and other soy products. Each time we buy groceries from the produce aisle, we are contributing to the poisoning of the rural Argentines. Yet, the meat industry is no better. We are in many ways trapped by industries thanks to our desire for quick, easy meals.

Leave a Reply

