Purgatory

I wished for a happier ending every day, but it never came.

My wish was ignored like the bodies of forgotten murders. Bodies rotting until they are eaten by pests and parasites. They don’t nurture anything.

No one answers. My voice is kept still. Frozen in a silver lining that keeps the hopes from leaving. They are guarded by promises that are never kept. Forgotten.

The ending leaves permanent scars and permanent fears that leave loved ones tearing their skins to hide in a stripped veil of red velvet.

I look up to clear skies, but gravity pulls me down into the horrid trenches below. Gravity composed of hundreds of hands with familiar scents and familiar touches.

Familiar voices from the mouths of deadly strangers shatter my ears because I avoid them. I break my fingers and feet to make room to hide in the clouds of purgatory.

I wished for a happier ending every day, but it never came

because I can’t leave behind the worst ending.

 

 

Leave a Reply

